Naismith Trophy Midseason Awards 14-15

Naismith Trophy Midseason Awards 14-15
Naismith Trophy Midseason Awards 14-15Asia Durr

The Naismith Trophy Girls High School Player of the Year Midseason Team was announced on Tuesday, honoring the best of the 2014-15 high school season. The team, which consisted of all 15 players in the senior class, included two commitments from Baylor, Connecticut, North Carolina, Notre Dame, Tennessee and Texas. Staff on the Naismith Committee include:
Brandon Clay - @BrandonClayPSB Rebecca Dyer - @RebeccaGrayPSB Jonathan Hemingway - @JLHemingwayPSB Chris Hansen - @ChrisHansenPSB Keil Moore - @KeilMoorePSB

Kristine Anigwe Phoenix, AZ Desert Vista 2015 P California
De’Janae Boykin Springdale, MD CH Flowers 2015 F Connecticut
Kalani Brown Slidell, LA Salem 2015 P Baylor
Napheesa Collier St. Louis, MO Incarnate Word 2015 W Connecticut
Te’a Cooper Powder Springs, GA McEachern 2015 PG Tennessee
Asia Durr Douglassville, GA St. Pius X 2015 G Louisville
Lashann Higgs Round Rock, TX Cedar Ridge 2015 PG Texas
Jordan Hosey Pearland, TX Manvel 2015 W Texas
Marina Mabrey Point Pleasant, NJ Manasquan 2015 G Notre Dame
Beatrice Mompremier Miami, FL Miami Senior 2015 P Baylor
Arike Ogunbowale Milwaukee, WI D.S.H.A. 2015 G Notre Dame
Ali Patberg Columbus, IN Columbus North 2015 G Notre Dame
Katie Lou Samuelson Huntington Beach, CA Mater Dei 2015 W Connecticut
Destinee Walker Orlando, FL Lake Highland 2015 G North Carolina
Stepanie Watts Wesley Chapel Weddington 2015 G North Carolina

The Naismith Awards were founded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club to recognize accomplished athletes, coaches, officials and contributors to high school and college basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, the creator of the game of basketball, the first Naismith trophy was awarded in 1969 to UCLA’s Lew Alcindor, later known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. The trophy was sculpted by Marty C. Dawe of Atlanta and has become among the most prestigious national honors awarded each year to top basketball players in the nation. The Women’s Player of the Year Award was first given to Anne Donovan of Old Dominion University in 1983.

See the board of selectors for the Naismith Trophy Girls High School Player of the Year Awards

Follow The Feed