2016 ELITE 100 -- Spring Expansion

2016 ELITE 100 -- Spring Expansion
Dijonai Carrington

Sabrina Ionescu, Erin Boley and Crystal Dangerfield are all elite players whose stock rose this spring. 

With the spring basketball season over and summer ball upon us, the ProspectsNation.com Ranking Committee has expanded the player rankings for the class of 2016 to a top 100.  The ELITE 100 will expand to the ELITE 150 after the July summer circuit and camp season.


The biggest move among players in the top five is Erin Boley, the 6-foot-2 Notre Dame commit from Hodgenville, Ky., who moved up from No. 18 to No. 5 behind her consistent and stellar play.  Sabrina Ionescu, the 5-11 guard from Walnut Creek, Calif., also moved into the top five, moving up from No. 7 to No. 4.

Earlier in the spring we saw great improvement in the game of Dijonai Carrington, the 5-11 wing from San Diego, Calif., and that continued from the Check Me Out SoCal Showcase in April through USA Basketball U19 national team trials, leading to her move up to No. 14 in the class.

A trio of point guards from the Midwest also elevated their stock as Alecia Sutton of Kirkwood Mo., and Tyasha Harris of Indianapolis, Ind., check in at Nos. 15 and 16 respectively, while Kiara Lewis of Chicago, Ill., moves up to No. 20.

By The Numbers

1   Players from Alaska

2   Players committed to Dayton

3   Players committed to Arizona State

4   Players from Minnesota

5   Committed to SEC schools

6   Players from Florida

7   Committed to Big-12 schools

8   Committed to ACC schools

10 Committed to Big Ten and Pac-12 Schools

11 Players ranked in the top 30 who are committed

12 Players from Texas

13 Number of undecided post players

15 Players from California

17 Point Guards

18 Posts and Guards

19 Number of players standing 6-3 or taller

22 Forwards

23 Previously unranked players still undecided

25 Wings

44 Players are already committed

46 Players 6-0 or taller

Hansen is managing editor of ProspectsNation.com and serves on the McDonald’s All-American and Naismith Trophy selection committees.  He was the national director of scouting for ESPN HoopGurlz from 2005 until 2012.  He can be reached at chris@prospectsnation.com.

Follow The Feed